David Baker

BA Linguistics and English '75
President and Executive Director, NFL Hall of Fame

David Baker is the President and Executive Director of the NFL Hall of Fame.

Baker brings a wealth of experience gained from more than 35 years of leadership in business management, professional sports and public service. For the four years prior to his role at the Hall of Fame, Baker has worked as a Partner in Union Village, LLC, the largest healthcare project in the United States creating thousands of jobs in Henderson, Nevada as the first Integrated Health Village in the world.

His professional sports career includes a 12-year tenure (1996-2008) as Commissioner of the Arena Football League (AFL). Under his leadership, the AFL experienced unprecedented growth in attendance, TV ratings, corporate sponsorships, merchandise sales, revenue and profitability. Baker first joined the AFL in 1995 when he purchased the Anaheim Piranhas. That same year he was elected the AFL’s Chairman of the Board.

The 6’9” Baker was a power forward and captain of the basketball team at the UC Irvine from 1971–75. He also played two seasons of professional basketball in Europe before returning to obtain a Juris Doctorate degree from Pepperdine University School of Law where he served as Editor-in-Chief of the Law Review.

As an attorney in California, Baker specialized in corporate mergers, acquisitions and real estate law. From 1984-88 he served as a City Councilman and Mayor of Irvine, California.

Baker and his wife Colleen are the proud parents of four children. Their daughter, Leyla, 35 and, son, Michael Ray, 33, are located in California. Their two youngest sons have also been involved in football and professional sports. Ben, 31, is a former offensive lineman who received a scholarship to Duke and is now a Senior Manager of Broadcasting at NASCAR in Charlotte. Sam, 28, is a former three-time All-American left tackle at USC and has just completed his sixth year with the Atlanta Falcons where he was a first round draft pick in 2008

**From NFL Hall of Fame Press Release date 1/6/2014.